Exploration News for West Africa


FEATURED STORY

Results 22 articles shown

Aker Bullish on Offshore Ghana
Friday, January 11, 2019 Phased development could deploy several production units, says CEO.

Eni Makes New Oil Discovery
Monday, December 10, 2018 Eni announces a new oil discovery in the Afoxe exploration prospect, located in Block 15/06 offshore Angola.

Oil Exploration Activity Will Pick Up in 2019
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 There will be a pick up in oil exploration activity next year, according to a new report.

Less Appetite for Exploration Drilling
Monday, November 12, 2018 There's less appetite for exploration drilling, according to Rystad Energy.

A Better Approach to Conventional Oil Exploration
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 The history of oil exploration is one of trying to overcome the odds.

Aker Energy To Submit Plan For Ghana Offshore Field In 2019
Thursday, August 30, 2018 Aker Energy will delay submitting a plan for development of its block off Ghana.

Savannah Makes Oil Discovery Onshore Niger
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc makes an oil discovery at the Eridal-1 exploration well, which is situated onshore Niger.

Shell Enters West African Atlantic Margin
Monday, July 23, 2018 Two units of Shell sign a pair of production sharing contracts with the government of Mauritania.

Savannah Makes 3rd Consecutive Discovery in Niger
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc announces its third consecutive discovery in its maiden exploration campaign in the R3 portion of the R3/R4 PSC Area in the Agadem Rift Basin.

Eni Reports Offshore Angola Discovery
Monday, June 25, 2018 Eni-operated JV reports success offshore Angola.

Kunama-1 Well in Niger Spudded
Friday, June 22, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc says the third well in its current Niger drilling campaign, Kunama-1, has been spudded.

Congo Republic To Launch Call For Oil License Tenders In September
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 Congo Republic will open a call for oil license tenders in September followed by a promotion campaign at an oil conference in South Africa in November.

Oil Discovery Made in South East Niger Well
Wednesday, June 06, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc announces that the Niger Amdigh-1 exploration well has discovered oil.

Energy Ministry: Ghana To Award Nine New Oil Blocks Off West Coast
Thursday, May 17, 2018 Ghana is set to award nine new upstream oil blocks for commercial exploration off its western coast beginning this year.

Tortue Field Appraisal Well Hits 98-Feet of Hydrocarbon-Bearing Reservoir
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 The DTM-3 appraisal well, located at the Tortue field within the Dussafu License offshore Gabon, encounters approximately 98-feet of hydrocarbon-bearing reservoir.

Etinde Appraisal Drilling Campaign Due to Commence Soon
Friday, May 11, 2018 Bowleven plc says a 2 well appraisal drilling campaign on Cameroon's Etinde asset is due to commence at the end of May.

Savannah Petroleum Spuds New Well in Niger Drilling Campaign
Tuesday, May 08, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc announces that the 2nd of its 3-well Niger drilling campaign, Amdigh-1, has been spudded.

Rystad Energy: 100 Offshore Projects to be Sanctioned in 2018
Thursday, May 03, 2018 Oil market 'tailwind' likely to spark 100 offshore project sanctions in 2018.

Onshore Niger Well Hits Oil
Monday, April 23, 2018 British independent oil and gas company Savannah Petroleum plc announces that an oil discovery has been made at the Bushiya-1 exploration well, located onshore south east Niger.

Savannah Spuds South East Niger Well
Wednesday, April 04, 2018 Savannah Petroleum plc spuds Bushiya-1 in south east Niger, the first well in a three well drilling campaign.

Petronas Subsidiary Makes Oil, Gas Discovery Offshore Gabon
Monday, March 05, 2018 Petronas' subsidiary, PC Gabon Upstream S.A., makes a new oil and gas discovery at the Boudji-1 exploration well in Block F14.

BP, Kosmos Win Rights To Two Oil Blocks In Sao Tome And Principe
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 A consortium of BP and Kosmos Energy has won exploration rights to 2 offshore oil blocks in Sao Tome and Principe's exclusive economic zone.