Finance and Investing News for United States


Results 17 articles shown

The Oil Industry's Wall Street Burden
Friday, March 01, 2019 The battle among analysts between calls for production growth and returns continues.

PetroQuest Emerges from Chapter 11 Bankruptcy
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 US independent PetroQuest Energy emerges from Chapter 11 bankruptcy.

BP Invests in Technology to Help Upstream Business
Monday, January 28, 2019 BP Ventures invested $5 million in a Houston technology startup that uses artificial intelligence to help BP experts make more efficient upstream decisions.

Gastar Emerges from Chapter 11 Bankruptcy
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 The pure play Mid-Continent energy company has successfully completed its restructuring process.

Chesapeake Surges After Director Buys Shares
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 Chesapeake shares rose the most since February.

Hess Market Cap Plunges $1.5B
Monday, December 24, 2018 Hess tumbled the most in almost three years, wiping out $1.5 billion in market valuation.

Drop in Crude to Test Big Oil's Devotion to Spending Discipline
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 The world's biggest oil companies have been saying that by keeping a tight rein on spending today, they'll be fortified against the next crude-price collapse.

Gastar Exploration Files for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy
Monday, October 29, 2018 The pure play Mid-continent energy company has entered into a restricting support agreement with its largest creditor and shareholder.

Private Equity Needs Long-Term Approach to Cash in on Shale
Monday, October 22, 2018 For private equity, the game plan for cashing in on the U.S. shale boom is shifting from quick flips to long-term commitments, according to one veteran energy investor.

Weatherford CEO Expects 2018 EBITDA To Nearly Double
Wednesday, September 05, 2018 Weatherford International's full-year earnings before expenses will nearly double from last year, CEO Mark McCollum says.

Total Rules Out Investing In US Shale Oil After BP-BHP Deal
Monday, August 27, 2018 Total is not looking at investing in the US shale oil industry.

Sources: US Directional Oil And Gas Drilling Firm SDI Seeking Buyer
Thursday, August 09, 2018 SDI is being offered to potential buyers at a valuation of more than $500 million, sources familiar said.

Equity Ramping Up to Target Unconventional Plays Including the Permian
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 Despite bottleneck woes, investors are opening their wallets for the latest wave of unconventional fever and the Permian in particular.

Sources Say ExxonMobil to Take Baby Steps to Expand Oil Trading Unit
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 ExxonMobil is dipping its toe in the world of oil trading, hiring executives and showing an appetite for expanding its operations.

Investors See Big Oil Surge, But Physical Markets Suggest Caution
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 Physical markets for oil shipments tell a different story.

Oil's Lifeline Turns Into $7 Billion Drag as Crude Prices Jump
Wednesday, May 02, 2018 There's a downside to oil prices being up that could cost the industry more than $7 billion.

Rosneft Appeals to Market With $2 Billion Buyback, Debt Cut
Tuesday, May 01, 2018 Rosneft PJSC plans to start a $2B share buyback this year.