Seismic News


Results 50 articles shown

EMGS to Mobilize Ship for New GOM Survey
Thursday, December 03, 2020Electromagnetic Geoservices (EMGS) has received a letter of award for a 3D CSEM and MT multi-client survey in the Gulf of Mexico.

ADNOC Dishes Out Deal Worth Up To $519MM
Friday, November 27, 2020ADNOC has announced the award of a contract worth up to $519 million to BGP Inc, a subsidiary of China National Petroleum Company.

GOM Walker Ridge Seismic Program Starts
Friday, October 16, 2020CGG CEO Sophie Zurquiyah, above, said two priority discovery areas will be processed on an accelerated schedule. PHOTO SOURCE: CGG

Turkey Conducts Seismic Survey Between Greek Islands
Monday, October 12, 2020A Turkish survey ship returned to the contested waters of the eastern Mediterranean on Monday.

Phase 2 for Largest CNS OBN Multi-Client Survey
Monday, September 28, 2020CGG has announced the completion of the first phase of its multi-year program to deliver 'the largest OBN multi-client survey ever acquired in the UK Central North Sea'.

Fugro Wins Offshore India Survey
Thursday, September 17, 2020Above is a multibeam seabed image of the Gulf of Kutch on India's west coast. IMAGE SOURCE: Fugro

OGA to Publish Historic Seismic Data
Tuesday, September 15, 2020The UK Oil and Gas Authority will make historic seismic data available after a consultation into the reporting and disclosure of such data.

Turkish Official Foresees More Black Sea Discoveries
Monday, August 24, 2020Turkey is also conducting a seismic survey in the eastern Mediterranean.

Turkey Confronts EU with New Energy Survey
Tuesday, August 18, 2020Turkey dispatched a drilling ship to an area off the southwestern coast of Cyprus on Tuesday.

PGS Rejects $600MM TGS Offer
Friday, August 14, 2020PGS has rejected TGS' offer for the purchase of the multi-client data library of PGS.

New Onshore Survey Announced in Wyoming
Wednesday, August 12, 2020TGS has announced a new multi-client U.S. onshore 3D seismic survey, dubbed Voyager 3D.

TGS Submits $600MM Offer to PGS
Friday, August 07, 2020TGS-NOPEC Geophysical Company has submitted a conditional offer for the purchase of the multi-client data library of PGS.

CGG Sells Multi-Physics Business
Thursday, August 06, 2020CGG has entered into a sale and purchase agreement with Xcalibur Group for the sale of its multi-physics business.

Halliburton and TechnipFMC Launch New Service
Friday, July 10, 2020Halliburton Company and TechnipFMC have launched the first distributed acoustic sensing solution for subsea wells, the companies outlined in a joint statement.

TGS Kicks Off Timor-Leste Offshore Seismic Project
Thursday, June 18, 2020Availability is expected from July 2020, with final deliverables estimated around September 2020.

PGS to Acquire 3 New Surveys in Eastern Canada
Thursday, May 21, 2020PGS has revealed that it will acquire three new seismic surveys in Eastern Canada this year.

Neptune Completes First Egypt OBN Seismic Survey
Friday, May 08, 2020The survey was the first ever OBN seismic survey to be conducted in Egypt and the most detailed survey of the block since 1988.

Polarcus Cuts Jobs and Salaries
Wednesday, April 01, 2020Polarcus Limited has announced a $15 million cost reduction plan following the coronavirus outbreak and recent oil price crash.

CGG Exits Land Seismic Business
Wednesday, February 19, 2020The company has embarked on a strategic transition.

CGG and Fairfield Partner in the Permian
Friday, February 07, 2020CGG and Fairfield Geotechnologies will jointly conduct a new multi-client seismic program in the Central Basin Platform of the Permian Basin in West Texas.

MF Bags 2 Deepwater Gulf of Mexico OBN Projects
Monday, December 30, 2019Magseis Fairfield has been awarded two consecutive deepwater ocean bottom node projects in the Gulf of Mexico by 'an undisclosed repeat customer'.

Total Awards Offshore Angola Seismic Survey Contract
Tuesday, December 10, 2019This photo shows autonomous underwater vehicles that Ocean Infinity uses to conduct subsea seismic surveys. PHOTO SOURCE: Ocean Infinity

TGS Starts Additional Montney Project
Thursday, December 05, 2019TGS has started onshore seismic acquisition for an additional Montney basin 3D project in Canada.

Shearwater Gets Shell Black Sea Seismic Contract
Monday, November 25, 2019Shearwater GeoServices Holding AS has been awarded a Black Sea 3D seismic acquisition contract by Royal Dutch Shell plc.

CGG Announces Largest UK CNS OBN Multi-Client Survey
Tuesday, November 19, 2019CGG announced Tuesday a program to deliver 'the largest OBN multi-client survey ever conducted in the UK Central North Sea'.

Total and ADNOC Plan Seismic Drone Project
Thursday, November 14, 2019The project will use a fleet of drones to drop off thousands of seismic sensors throughout Abu Dhabi and unmanned ground vehicles to retrieve them.

Ex-Schlumberger Leader Takes MF CEO Role
Friday, September 13, 2019Magseis Fairfield appoints Carel Hooijkaas as its new chief executive officer.

Austin Chalk Seismic Survey Planned
Thursday, June 06, 2019A large-scale, multi-client Austin Chalk seismic survey is set to begin this September.

UK Offers Acreage in 31st Round
Tuesday, June 04, 2019The UK Oil and Gas Authority offers 37 license areas over 141 blocks, or part-blocks, to 30 companies as part of the 31st Offshore Licensing Round.

Fairfield Geotechnologies Makes Leadership Changes
Thursday, May 30, 2019Fairfield Geotechnologies has announced a number of executive leadership changes.

Carnarvon Conducting Placement to Raise $50MM
Wednesday, February 13, 2019Carnarvon Petroleum Limited is conducting a placement to 'institutional and sophisticated investors' to raise approximately $50 million.

Global Offshore Oil Set to Rebound?
Monday, February 04, 2019Offshore spending is expected to increase 4-5% in 2019 and even outgrow onshore investment.

Offshore Gabon Seismic Extended
Monday, January 21, 2019CGG is collecting more seismic data offshore Gabon. PHOTO SOURCE: CGG

Venezuela Will Remap its Caribbean Oil, Gas Prospects
Wednesday, January 09, 2019Venezuela will remap its Caribbean oil and gas prospects.

States Look to Block Seismic Surveys in Atlantic
Thursday, December 20, 2018Attorneys general from 9 coastal states are intervening in a lawsuit aimed at blocking seismic surveys that could help pinpoint oil under Atlantic waters.

Trump Admin to Advance Seismic Surveys in Atlantic
Friday, November 30, 2018The Trump administration is taking a major step toward allowing a first-in-a-generation seismic search for oil and gas under Atlantic waters.

Norway and Russia Sign Seismic Deal
Friday, October 26, 2018Norway and Russia sign an agreement on mutual rights to seismic acquisition in the Barents Sea.

New US GOM Seismic Project for TGS and Schlumberger
Friday, October 12, 2018TGS and Schlumberger announce a new multiclient nodal seismic project in the US Gulf of Mexico (GOM).

UK West Shetland Seismic Survey Acquisition Commences
Monday, September 17, 2018CGG commences the acquisition of a seismic survey in the UK West Shetland basin.

TGS Announces Expansion of Canadian Onshore Seismic Survey
Monday, July 23, 2018TGS announces the expansion of its Dawson Phase II onshore seismic survey in Canada.

BGP Secures $1.6B ADNOC Seismic Survey Work
Thursday, July 19, 2018ADNOC awards contracts worth $1.6 billion to a China National Petroleum Company (CNPC) affiliate for 'the world's largest continuous 3D onshore and offshore seismic survey'.

Size of FEL 3/13 'Prize' Nearly Doubles
Tuesday, June 05, 2018Europa Oil & Gas (Holdings) plc announces the near doubling of its estimate of gross mean un-risked prospective resources on FEL 3/13 in the South Porcupine Basin.

Oil Service Firm TGS Boosted By Seismic Market Recovery
Tuesday, April 10, 2018TGS reports first-quarter revenues far above forecasts as markets continue to improve.

Dominican Republic to Join Caribbean Energy Exploration Rush
Monday, March 05, 2018The Dominican Republic expects to draw interest from energy titans when it opens the country to natural gas and oil exploration for the first time later this month.

Ineos Shale Granted Access to High Court in Land Access Rights Issue
Thursday, February 22, 2018Ineos Shale granted permission to pursue its application to undertake a geophysical survey in Clumber Park in the High Court.

Egypt Says Signs Seismic Survey Deal With Schlumberger
Wednesday, February 14, 2018Egypt has signed a deal with Schlumberger to conduct a seismic survey in the Gulf of Suez.

Eni Says To Produce 2.9 Bcf Per Day From Zohr Field By Second Half 2019
Monday, February 12, 2018Production from Egypt's Zohr field will reach 2.9 billion cubic feet per day by mid-2019, Eni says.

Stanford PhD Student Helped Discover 200MM Barrels of Resources
Wednesday, January 31, 2018A PhD student from Stanford was integral in BP's discovery of more than 200 million barrels of additional resources at the Atlantis field in the deepwater Gulf of Mexico.

Mexico's Oil Reform A Boon For Hard-Hit Oil Service, Seismic Firms
Tuesday, January 30, 2018Oil service and mapping firms still emerging from an industry recession have received a boost from about $800 million of data sales to energy firms.

OMV Ramps Up Search For Gas In Austria
Monday, January 29, 2018OMV is ramping up its geological survey work in Austria with a view to increasing its market share.