Geosciences News


Results 24 articles shown

Another Oil Company Turning To Carbon Capture Projects
Friday, November 12, 2021Lime Petroleum has made an agreement with Nautilus Carbon Services to secure a storage site on the NCS where CO2 can be injected and permanently stored.

ExxonMobil, Pertamina To Evaluate CCS Potential in Indonesia
Tuesday, November 02, 2021ExxonMobil and Pertamina have signed an MoU to evaluate the potential for large-scale deployment of low-carbon technologies in Indonesia.

TGS, CGG, BGP Pen Multi-Client Seismic Deal With Staatsolie
Wednesday, October 20, 2021A consortium of TGS, CGG, and BGP has signed a multi-client agreement with Staatsolie for multi-client seismic offshore programs.

Deepwater GOM Survey Set for Third Quarter
Thursday, July 01, 2021NCS SubSea will perform a 4D P-Cable monitor survey over an undisclosed GOM field. PHOTO SOURCE: NCS SubSea

Drilling Contractor Invests in Geothermal Tech Firms
Monday, June 28, 2021The global drilling contractor is investing a total of $21 million in a pair of geothermal technology companies. PHOTO SOURCE: Nabors Industries

Colombia Oil Producer Harnesses Geothermal Energy
Monday, June 14, 2021A geothermal energy pilot plant is providing electricity for a remote wellsite. PHOTO SOURCE: Parex Resources

Natural Gas Liquids Drive Geothermal Tech
Thursday, May 27, 2021A Canada-based firm has developed geothermal technology that removes water from the equation.

Plasma Drilling Firm Seeks to Expand Geothermal Access
Thursday, May 20, 2021GA Drilling's plasma drilling technology in action. PHOTO SOURCE: GA Drilling

Free Geomechanics Training Course up for Grabs
Monday, May 17, 2021The UK Oil and Gas Authority is offering around 30 places on a geomechanics training course for free.

Geothermal Energy Is a Different Kind of Renewable Resource
Thursday, May 13, 2021Geothermal firm exec offers his perspective on collaboration between the geothermal and oil and gas sectors.

Canadian Firm Spuds Onshore Namibia Well
Thursday, May 06, 2021ReconAfrica has begun drilling its second well in the Kavango Basin in northeastern Namibia.

Vietnam 3D Seismic Survey Goes to Shearwater
Tuesday, April 13, 2021Shearwater GeoServices will perform a 3D seismic survey in Vietnam with the SW Vespucci vessel. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

Shearwater Wins Offshore Australia 3D Survey
Friday, March 05, 2021The marine geophysical firm will use the Geo Coral 3D streamer vessel. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

Aker BP Awards Norwegian Sea 4D Survey
Wednesday, February 24, 2021Shearwater will use its SW Tasman and SW Cook multi-purpose vessels for the project. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

Petrobras Awards Deepwater 3D Surveys
Thursday, February 18, 2021Shearwater will deploy its SW Diamond vessel for the contract. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

Offshore India Seismic Contract Goes to Shearwater
Tuesday, December 22, 2020Shearwater plans to use the SW Duchess streamer vessel and the SW Vespucci multipurpose vessel, above, for the campaign. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

EMGS to Mobilize Ship for New GOM Survey
Thursday, December 03, 2020Electromagnetic Geoservices (EMGS) has received a letter of award for a 3D CSEM and MT multi-client survey in the Gulf of Mexico.

CGG Wins Oman Contract Extension
Tuesday, December 01, 2020Petroleum Development Oman (PDO) has awarded the geoscience technology firm CGG a three-year contract extension.

GOM Walker Ridge Seismic Program Starts
Friday, October 16, 2020CGG CEO Sophie Zurquiyah, above, said two priority discovery areas will be processed on an accelerated schedule. PHOTO SOURCE: CGG

OGA to Publish Historic Seismic Data
Tuesday, September 15, 2020The UK Oil and Gas Authority will make historic seismic data available after a consultation into the reporting and disclosure of such data.

Fugro Achieves Mid-East Geophysical Milestone
Thursday, June 25, 2020Controlled from the company's operations center in Abu Dhabi, the entire process was completed remotely.

Fairfield Geotechnologies Makes Leadership Changes
Thursday, May 30, 2019Fairfield Geotechnologies has announced a number of executive leadership changes.

Acteon to Buy Offshore Marine Survey Company Benthic
Thursday, April 11, 2019UK-based subsea services group Acteon has agreed to acquire Houston, TX-based Benthic, an offshore marine geotechnical and geophysical survey company.

Shale's Public Enemy No. 1 Says Short the Permian and Eagle Ford
Friday, May 11, 2018The geologist who earned the wrath of shale drillers a decade ago with forecasts that natural gas was about to run out is now warning that the Permian Basin has just seven years of proven oil reserves left.