Discoveries News


Results 50 articles shown

Aramco Awards Major Deals and More
Saturday, November 21, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

How Much Oil and Gas Has Been Found in 2020?
Tuesday, November 17, 2020Global conventional oil and gas discoveries already exceed eight billion barrels of oil equivalent, according to a new Rystad Energy analysis.

ConocoPhillips Hits Gas Pay in Norwegian Sea
Thursday, November 12, 2020ConocoPhillips has reported a new gas condensate discovery offshore Norway.

Schlumberger Sells Rod Lift Business and More
Saturday, November 07, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

CVX in $735MM Shale Deal and More
Saturday, October 31, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Equinor and BP Strike Oil Offshore Canada
Friday, October 30, 2020Equinor and BP Canada have made two oil discoveries offshore Newfoundland, Canada.

Total Announces Significant Discovery
Wednesday, October 28, 2020Total (NYSE: TOT) announced Wednesday that it has made a significant gas and condensate discovery on the Luiperd prospect.

LLOG Unveils Spruance Development Plans
Tuesday, October 27, 2020LLOG reported more success at its Spruance discovery in the deepwater Gulf of Mexico.

COP In Talks to Buy Rival and More
Saturday, October 17, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Touchstone Announces Significant Gas Discovery
Wednesday, October 14, 2020Touchstone Exploration (TSX, LSE: TXP) has announced a 'significant' natural gas discovery at the Chinook-1 exploration well on the Ortoire exploration block.

Gazprom Unveils New Gas Deposit
Monday, October 12, 2020Gazprom (MCX: GAZP) has revealed that a new gas deposit has been discovered at the Leningradskoye field of the Yamal gas production center.

Turkey Set to Revise Black Sea Discovery Estimate
Friday, October 09, 2020The government reportedly will outline a sizable revision to the initial discovery of 320 billion cubic meters of recoverable gas.

Permian Jewel Preps for Biden And More
Saturday, October 03, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Equinor Makes New Offshore Discovery
Wednesday, September 30, 2020Equinor (NYSE: EQNR) has revealed that a new oil and gas discovery has been made in the Swisher prospect offshore Norway.

Permian in for Bright Future and More
Saturday, September 19, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

New Gas Discovery Made Offshore Egypt
Wednesday, September 16, 2020Eni (BIT: ENI) has announced a new gas discovery in the Great Nooros Area.

Apache and Total Evaluate Suriname Discovery
Tuesday, September 15, 2020Apache Corp. and Total S.A. have updated the technical evaluation of their Kwaskwasi-1 discovery well in Block 58 offshore Suriname.

Oil Sentiment Sours and More
Saturday, September 12, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top upstream stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Offshore Asset Gets Significant Resource Upgrade
Wednesday, September 09, 2020Chariot Oil & Gas Limited (AIM: CHAR) has announced a 'significant' resource upgrade for the Anchois asset in the Lixus license offshore Morocco.

Oilfield Fraud Lawsuit Ensnares $100MM CEO
Wednesday, September 09, 2020In their lawsuit, investors allege Anadarko executives kept repeating rosy expectations about Shenandoah long enough to profit from them.

Exxon Hits More Oil Pay Offshore Guyana
Tuesday, September 08, 2020ExxonMobil and its co-venturers have made their 18th discovery offshore Guyana.

Saudi Aramco Makes Two Discoveries
Monday, August 31, 2020Saudi Aramco discovered two oil and gas fields in northern parts of Saudi Arabia, the kingdom's official news agency reported.

Oxy in Billion Dollar Deal and More
Sunday, August 30, 2020Here are some more of Rigzone's top stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Barron Announces Major New Permian Discovery
Tuesday, August 25, 2020Barron Petroleum has made its biggest oil and gas discovery to date.

Turkish Official Foresees More Black Sea Discoveries
Monday, August 24, 2020Turkey is also conducting a seismic survey in the eastern Mediterranean.

Erdogan Touts Black Sea Gas Discovery
Friday, August 21, 2020President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said Turkey has found 320 billion cubic meters of natural gas in the Tuna-1 field in the Black Sea.

Oil Companies Wonder If Looking for Oil Is Still Worth It
Monday, August 17, 2020As the coronavirus ravages economies and cripples demand, European oil majors have made some uncomfortable admissions in recent months.

Neptune Makes Largest 2020 Norway Discovery
Tuesday, August 04, 2020Neptune Energy has announced the commercial discovery of oil at the Dugong well in the Norwegian sector of the North Sea.

Apache and Total Strike Oil Offshore Suriname
Thursday, July 30, 2020Apache Corp. and Total S.A. Wednesday afternoon reported a major oil discovery in Block 58 offshore Suriname.

Production Starts from Egypt Oil Discovery
Wednesday, July 29, 2020Eni S.p.A. reported Tuesday an oil discovery in the South West Meleiha Concession in Egypt’s Western Desert.

Majors Make New Gas Discovery
Wednesday, July 29, 2020Eni, Total and BP have made a new gas discovery at the Bashrush well on the North El Hammad license offshore Egypt.

Eni Ups Potential of Vietnam Discovery
Tuesday, July 28, 2020Ken Bau 2X hit more than 361 feet of pay in several intervals.

CNOOC Starts Production from Luda Project
Wednesday, July 22, 2020CNOOC Limited has announced that the Luda 21-2/16-3 regional development project has started production.

MOL Discovers Significant Reserves in Pakistan
Tuesday, July 14, 2020MOL revealed Tuesday that it has discovered 'significant' gas and condensate reserves in Pakistan.

What Happens to Oil in a 2nd Covid Wave?
Friday, July 10, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

Equinor Makes North Sea Discovery
Wednesday, July 08, 2020Equinor has discovered gas and condensate in the Norwegian section of the North Sea.

Who is the Most Admired Upstream Explorer?
Tuesday, July 07, 2020The answer to that question is French oil and gas major Total, according to Wood Mackenzie.

Neptune Makes North Sea Discovery
Monday, July 06, 2020Neptune Energy has announced the discovery of hydrocarbons at the Dugong well.

1H Discoveries at Lowest Point in 21st Century
Friday, July 03, 2020Global discoveries of conventional resource volumes dwindled in the first half of this year.

Eni Makes New Gas Discovery Offshore Egypt
Wednesday, July 01, 2020Eni has made a new gas discovery in the Mediterranean Sea offshore Egypt.

CNOOC Makes Significant New Discovery
Tuesday, June 30, 2020CNOOC Limited has made a 'significant' discovery in the eastern south China sea.

New Oilfields Discovered in Belarus
Monday, June 08, 2020Belorusneft has revealed that it has discovered two new oilfields in the Khoiniki district of the Gomel region.

Study Shows New Offshore Canada Oil Presence
Friday, May 29, 2020A detailed evaluation of the Southern Grand Banks petroleum system offshore Atlantic Canada has identified a new oil presence, Applied Petroleum Technology reported.

Petrobras Makes New Discoveries
Wednesday, May 13, 2020Petrobras revealed this week that it has made two new discoveries offshore Brazil.

New Discoveries Made in Northwest Germany
Monday, April 27, 2020Neptune Energy has revealed that two 'important' hydrocarbon discoveries have been made northwestern Germany.

Equinor Appoints New Exploration Leader
Wednesday, April 22, 2020Equinor revealed Wednesday that it has appointed a new exploration leader.

Pantheon Resources Makes Alaska North Slope Discovery
Monday, April 13, 2020The Talitha prospect could be the latest in a series of key North Slope oil discoveries. (Photo: The Alkaid well in Alaska)

Apache Finds Very Substantial Oil Resource
Friday, April 10, 2020Here are some of Rigzone's top stories during the last week, just in case you missed them...

SDX Makes Egypt Discovery
Thursday, April 09, 2020SDX Energy has made a commercial discovery at its 100 percent owned Sobhi well in Egypt.

New Oil Discovery Made in Norwegian Sea
Wednesday, April 08, 2020Wintershall Dea revealed Tuesday that it has made an oil discovery at the Bergknapp prospect in the Norwegian Sea.