DOE Names New Energy Panel

The U.S. Department of Energy on Tuesday announced the members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB). Eliminated during the last administration, SEAB is being reestablished under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The twelve member board comprised of scientists, business executives, academics and former government officials will serve as an independent advisory committee to Secretary Steven Chu.

"I am honored that this talented group of individuals has agreed to offer their service to the Department and to the Nation," said Chu. "They will be providing their expertise and experience at a critical time for our country as we chart a new course toward a clean energy future."

The Board will provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary on the Department's basic and applied research, economic and national security policy, educational issues, operational issues and other activities as directed by the Secretary.

SEAB reports directly to the Secretary of Energy. It was chartered in 1990 to provide the Secretary with timely, balanced, external advice on issues concerning the Department. The board is expected to meet twice a year and at other times as needed. Subcommittees are also expected to be organized under SEAB.

Below is the list of SEAB Members:

  • Norman Augustine - Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin, Former Under Secretary for the Army
  • Ralph Cicerone - President of National Academy of Sciences
  • John Deutch - MIT Chemist, Former Under Secretary of Energy
  • Nicholas Donofrio - Former EVP of Innovation and Technology, IBM
  • Alexis Herman - Former Secretary of Labor
  • Chad Holliday, Jr. - Former CEO of Dupont
  • Michael McQuade - Senior VP, United Technologies Corporation
  • William Perry - Former Secretary of Defense, Stanford University Professor
  • Arthur Rosenfeld - Former Commissioner, California Energy Commission
  • Susan Tierney - Managing Principle, Analysis Group
  • Steven Westly - Managing Partner, Westly Group
  • Daniel Yergin - President, Cambridge Energy Research Associates

Company: U.S. Department of Energy more info
 - The Future of Ice Gas (Jun 23)
 - Daniel Poneman, Deputy US Energy Secretary, To Step Down (Jun 19)
 - DOE Expands Methane Hydrates Research (Nov 21)