MMS Recognizes Safety Excellence in GOM

The Interior Department's Minerals Management Service announced the 2009 District Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) recipients for the Gulf of Mexico Region. The SAFE Program recognizes those operating companies that conduct their operations in a safe manner, adhering to all regulatory requirements, employing trained and motivated personnel, and enhancing safe operations.

"The MMS Gulf of Mexico Region is committed to having the safest and most environmentally sound offshore operations," said MMS Regional Director Lars Herbst. "We take great pride in recognizing the exemplary performances of these companies that are setting the standard for safety and environmental excellence."

The 2009 SAFE award winners for each MMS Gulf of Mexico District are the following:

District Production-High Production-Moderate Drilling Contractor Production Contractor
New Orleans Andarko Petroleum Corporation Ankor Energy LLC Helmerich & Payne's H&P 201 None
Houma Eni US Operating Co., Inc. BHP Billiton Petroleum (GOM), Inc. Helmerich & Payne's H&P 100 None
Lafayette Chevron Corporation Nexen Petroleum U.S.A., Inc. Diamond Offshore Drilling, Inc. None
Lake Charles Mariner Energy Inc.- Vermilion 26 Field El Paso Exploration & Production Company Hercules Offshore Drilling Hercules 253 None
Lake Jackson Chevron Corporation El Paso Exploration & Production Company Noble Drilling Services, Inc.

Danos & Curole Mariner Contractors, Inc.

Recipients of this year's District SAFE Awards will be presented with their awards at a program held today at the Sheraton Galleria, Metairie, LA.



Company: Minerals Management Service (MMS) more info
 - Obama Names New Head of MMS (Jun 15)
 - Abbey Implements New Drilling Requirements (Jun 07)
 - MMS Chief Resigns (May 27)