National Fuel Gas Elects New Chairman

National Fuel elected David F. Smith to the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors. Smith succeeds Philip C. Ackerman, who held the position since 2002.

Mr. Smith commented, "I am honored to follow a long line of such capable Chairmen of the Board, starting back from Phil Ackerman to Bernie Kennedy and Lou Reif. Our former Chairmen, men of vision and energy, set in motion a strategic plan to evolve a regional utility into a national company with significant growth opportunities in natural gas exploration and production, interstate pipeline and midstream businesses."

Smith went on to say, "Under the guidance of Phil Ackerman's steady hand and strong leadership, our Company delivered consistently outstanding performance and is well positioned for continued growth. During his tenure as Chairman and more than 40-year career at National Fuel, Phil was instrumental in growing the Company into the robust, diversified energy corporation that it is today. I look forward to working with the Board and the Company's management team as we continue to build on that success."

Smith, 56, joined the Company in 1978 and has been President of National Fuel since 2006. In 2007, he was elected to the Company's Board of Directors and in 2008 he was named Chief Executive Officer. Smith has also served as President of National Fuel Gas Supply Corporation, National Fuel Gas Distribution Corporation, Empire Pipeline, Inc., and National Fuel Resources, Inc. Smith, a Buffalo native, is a 1974 graduate of the State University of New York at Fredonia with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science. He also received a Law degree in 1978 from the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law. Smith presently serves on the following Boards: The Business Council of New York State, The Buffalo Niagara Enterprise (Chairman), the Buffalo Niagara Partnership (Executive Committee), the American Gas Association, the American Gas Foundation, the Gas Technology Institute and the University at Buffalo Law School's Dean's Advisory Council.