New Board Chairman Takes Helm at RWE Dea

Thomas Rappuhn (50) took over as Chairman of the Management Board of RWE Dea AG, Hamburg, effective January 1, 2010. In this position, he is the successor to Dr Georg Schöning, who retired at the end of 2009.

Rappuhn joined Deutsche Texaco AG in 1988, the same year the company was acquired by RWE. During his assignments in Germany and abroad, he gained extensive knowledge of the upstream business -- the exploration for, and production of, oil and natural gas.

Dr Jürgen Großmann, Chairman of the Management Board of RWE AG, "Thomas Rappuhn has acquired outstanding expertise in the international upstream industry, beginning with the technology and experience gained in the production countries all the way through to the competitive situation. With him at the helm as CEO, RWE Dea will remain on a growth track, and the company will continue to develop successfully in strategic terms."

Rappuhn's previous position of as Head of the Management Board Division Operations is now held by Ralf to Baben (56). Lutz-Michael Liebau (57) continues to head the company's Finance Division. The changes at Management Board level are also accompanied by certain organizational changes. The two divisions "New Projects" and "Portfolio Management" now report directly to the CEO.

"As well as realizing our ambitious growth targets for the coming years, we must also set the course now for the development of our business in the future," said Rappuhn.