Non-OPEC Countries Invited to next OPEC Meeting

OPEC has invited seven rival exporters to attend it's June 11th meeting in Doha, Qatar as observers. Among those countries invited are Russia, Norway and Mexico. However, Norway has declined to attend. The ministers are expected to discuss whether outputs are needed to make room for the return of Iraq crude.

"Russia will participate as an observer at the next meeting in June," cartel President Abdullah al-Attiyah said after talks with Russian Energy Minister Igor Yusufov. "We believe this support from Russia will help stabilize oil prices," he added. al-Attiyah said he had understood during the meeting that Russia was ready to support any OPEC decision but declined further comment on whether Russia would cut its output if the country received a request from OPEC.