MMS Honors Corporate Leadership

The U.S. Department of the Interior's Minerals Management Service (MMS) has announced the recipients of the agency's Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA). The award is given annually to individuals who perform voluntary acts or services that assist MMS in accomplishing important objectives in the areas of offshore energy and minerals management or minerals revenue management. Their actions led to safer operations, greater environmental protections, or improved accounting.

"The professionalism, cooperation and contributions to the Minerals Management Service by these individuals deserve recognition," said MMS Director Randall Luthi. "MMS appreciates the initiative of the CORLA recipients and their demonstrated support of our Offshore Energy and Minerals Management and Minerals Revenue Management programs."

The following CORLA recipients will be recognized at the MMS awards ceremony in Houston, Texas on April 10, 2008:

Peter Brown, Jena Goebel, Timothy Mingee, and Amanda Hillman Smith, Argus Media, Inc. for extraordinary customer service in providing MMS with expert market pricing information and support, thereby improving the efficiency of MMS's Royalty In Kind Oil Program and furthering knowledge of MMS compliance staff.

Ronald Christ, Apache Corporation for exceptional leadership in promoting safe operations and regulatory compliance by bringing aging infrastructures back up to working standards.

Dennis Ray Cutcher, EDG Consulting Engineers for developing and distributing quick reference guides that are very helpful in assessing facility safety systems.

Donnie Ellis, Exxon Mobil Corporation for exceptional contributions and leadership in ensuring outstanding oil spill preparedness by volunteering to co-sponsor and chair a dispersant workshop for all oil and gas operators, and Federal, State, and local agencies in the Pacific Region.

Daryl Horn, Chevron Products Company for exceptional contributions and a proactive approach in providing accurate and timely information to both the Minerals Management Service and the Department of Energy in support of the Strategic Petroleum Reserve Program.

Magne Ognedal and Odd Bjerre Finnestad, Petroleum Safety Authority Norway for outstanding leadership in achieving cooperation between countries through presentations, speaking engagements, and chairing panels to achieve global safety objectives.

Ray Patterson Williams, Island Operating Company, Inc. for outstanding leadership in the creation of a new program that is designed to train and mentor new entrants to production operations ensuring the safety of offshore personnel and promoting regulatory compliance.

Daniel Alonso, Delmar Systems, Inc.; Ray Ayers, Stress Engineering Services; Mark Day, Devon Energy; Hongbo Shu, Shell; Jim Stear, Chevron; Sean Verret, Energo Engineering; John Stiff, ABS Consulting; and E.G. Ward, Offshore Technology Research Center for exceptional leadership in improving hurricane preparedness by acquiring and evaluating performance data, assessing risks, updating standards, and developing new operating procedures.

This year's Industry Awards Luncheon will be held on April 10, 2008, at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston, Texas. Last year's event was attended by more than 700 people from industry and government.

Company: Minerals Management Service (MMS) more info
 - Obama Names New Head of MMS (Jun 15)
 - Abbey Implements New Drilling Requirements (Jun 07)
 - MMS Chief Resigns (May 27)