OHM Founders Recognized for Electromagnetics Contribution

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists, a leading body that promotes the science of geophysics has awarded a prestigious Distinguished Achievement Award to University of Southampton, citing the roles of OHM's founders, Lucy MacGregor and Martin Sinha.and the education of applied geophysicists,

The award recognizes their role in the "first substantial test of controlled source electromagnetics for direct hydrocarbon detection," which took place offshore Angola in 2000 when the team was researching on the technique at the University of Southampton.

University of Southampton, Scripps Institution, Statoil, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute, and ExxonMobil are all to receive a Distinguished Achievement Award for their contributions to the successful implementation of Controlled Source Electromagnetics (CSEM)

Commenting on the award, MacGregor said:

"We are very grateful to the Society of Exploration Geophysicists for recognizing the key role that Martin and I, together with the University of Southampton, played in developing and commercializing the CSEM technology. That such a prestigious body is making an award for CSEM development is further endorsement of the industry wide interest in and acceptance of CSEM technology and the contribution it can make to the exploration and exploitation of hydrocarbons.

"At OHM, we are continuing to enhance the range and application of CSEM together with the integration of other geophysical data to provide our clients with a best in class and extremely valuable product. This award will spur us on to greater achievements "