Lukman Tapped to Chair Afren Board

Afren plc

The Board of Afren Plc is delighted to announce the appointment of Dr Rilwanu Lukman as Non-Executive Chairman with immediate effect. Dr Lukman was a founding director and shareholder in Afren and has been involved since the Group's inception in 2004, to establish Afren as a leading pan African oil and gas independent Exploration and Production company.

The appointment comes at an opportune time when Dr Lukman can devote more time to the Company. As Chairman, Dr Lukman is reaffirming and strengthening the African nature of the Company, which is a competitive advantage in securing attractive oil and gas opportunities in Africa. Dr Lukman's significant previous appointments include Secretary General of OPEC (five terms), President of OPEC (nine sessions), Nigerian Minister of Petroleum Resources, Special Adviser to the Nigerian President for Oil and Gas, Nigerian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Nigerian Minister of Mines, and Founder and Chairman of the African Petroleum Producers Association.

Charles Jamieson, who was formerly Afren’s Non-Executive Chairman and Mr Robert Cathery, Non-Executive Director, are stepping down from the Board to pursue other interests. The Company would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Jamieson and Mr Cathery for their valuable contribution to the early development of Afren.

Brian O'Cathain, Chief Executive, commented:

"We are honored that Dr Lukman has agreed to become our Chairman. Dr Lukman's pre-eminent African Oil & Gas experience will be invaluable in helping further develop Afren's African identity and presence, which is an important differentiating strategic advantage of the Company."