Eleven Companies Receive Award Offers in Norway's 17th Round

Norway's Ministry of Petroleum and Energy has awarded 11 companies offers to participate in new production licenses for 18 blocks or partial blocks. Norsk Hydro, Statoil and Shell received the most offers with 12, eight and eight respectively.

Other companies awarded offers were BP, Phillips Petroleum, RWE-DEA AG, ChevronTexaco, Conoco, DONG, Agip and Gaz de France. Norsk Hydro was offered two operatorships. Agip, Phillips, Shell and Statoil were offered one each.

"The 17th licensing round signifies a new focus on the Norwegian Sea," said Oil Minister Einar Steensnaes. "Several of the blocks are in the deepwater areas with substantial technological challenges. However, these blocks also represent considerable possibilities for making new, large discoveries."