Claus Chur Elected 2006 IADC Chairman

Claus Chur of KCA DEUTAG has been elected 2006 Chairman of the International Association of Drilling Contractors. Mr Chur is a member of the KCA DEUTAG Board and Director-Europe/Middle East/Russia, based in Bad Bentheim, Germany. Mr Chur was elected by the IADC Board of Directors.

KCA DEUTAG, a wholly owned subsidiary of Abbot Group plc, is a major offshore platform in the North Sea, one of the largest international land drilling contractors outside the Americas and a world leader in engineering, rig design, construction and operation.

The IADC Board also elected Robert L. Long, President, CEO and Director of Transocean Inc., as Vice Chairman. John Lindsay, Vice President, US Land Operations, for Helmerich & Payne International Drilling Co., was reelected Secretary-Treasurer.

IADC President Dr Lee Hunt and Senior Vice President-Government Affairs Brian T Petty were reelected.

The following Vice Presidents were also elected:

  • Scott Gordon, Vice President, Division Manager, Gulf Coast Division, Unit Drilling: IADC-Vice President Land Division;
  • Danny McNease, Chairman, President & CEO, Rowan Companies: IADC Vice President-Offshore Division;
  • Darrell Johnson, Vice President, Underbalanced Systems, Weatherford International Ltd: IADC Vice President-Drilling Services Division.