MMS Recognizes Industry Leaders for Outstanding Contribution

The U.S. Department of the Interior's Minerals Management Service announced the recipients of the 2004 Corporate Leadership Award. The CORLA is given annually to individuals who have performed an act or service that enhances the MMS mission objectives.

"Each winner of the CORLA has put forth extra effort in their work with MMS, and has truly contributed to the success of the MMS offshore or minerals revenue management programs," said MMS Director Johnnie Burton.

The CORLA recipients will be recognized at the MMS Industry Awards ceremony April 26, 2005 in Houston, Texas. They are:

Richard W. Armstrong, Clean Gulf Associates

Outstanding contributions in developing and maintaining outstanding oil spill response capability in the Gulf of Mexico.

Bernie D. Broussard, Island Operating Company, Inc.

Exceptional leadership and commitment in promoting safe and environmentally sound oil and gas production operations in the Gulf of Mexico.

Richard W. Bryan, ExxonMobil Refining and Production Company

Outstanding advice and training to MMS on oil Royalty in Kind (RIK) issues, and creation of tools to facilitate MMS's exchange of oil-imbalance information with multiple companies, enabling prompt issue resolution.

Robert Cody, ChevronTexaco Information Technology Company

Exemplary advice, insight, and leadership on electronic data exchange methodologies, helping MMS's electronic commerce program become a model for the oil and gas industry.

Keith J. Kosmin, Shell Trading (US) Company

Extraordinary assistance in locating and providing MMS with source documentation to reconcile numerous Strategic Petroleum Reserve (SPR) oil imbalances involving multiple operators ├Żand contracts over several years.

Ennis P. Luke, Anadarko Production Corporation

Outstanding initiative and professionalism in supporting personnel safety and promoting regulatory compliance.

Edie Luken, Gary-Williams Energy Corporation

Exceptional research and data compilation provided to MMS to resolve complex Royalty in Kind (RIK) oil imbalance issues involving multiple companies, offshore platforms, pipelines, market centers and refiners.

Anthony C. Marino, Schully, Roberts, Slattery, Jaubert and Marino

Invaluable contributions to the successful transfer of operating responsibilities from large to small companies.

Scott Pierce and Jo Phillips, Noble Energy, Inc.

Exceptional responsiveness in resolving royalty audit issues expeditiously and fairly, helping MMS achieve its strategic business goal of contemporaneous audits/reviews within three years.

Ron Poticha, Charlie Runnels, Compliance Technology Group and Jeff Scott, SEMPCheck Services, Inc.

Exceptional efforts to advance e-government initiatives that will improve the efficiency of the MMS compliance inspection program.

Daryl C. Pyne and Kenneth W. Salter, Chevron Pipe Line Company

Extraordinary support to MMS's commercial Royalty in Kind (RIK) program, especially related to imbalance tools, market trends and oil transportation/quality banks in the Gulf of Mexico.

Bob Reynolds, BP America, Inc., and Mary Ann O'Malley, Vacuum Energy, Inc.

Outstanding contributions to further MMS's knowledge of unique valuation issues related to the Alaska Northstar Facility, the first facility producing oil from Federal leases on the North Slope of Alaska.

George Robinson, FMC Corporation

Exceptional advice to MMS regarding complex royalty valuation of sodium and numerous other products produced from the ore.

Melissa Roedel, Shell Offshore, Inc.

Invaluable contributions to the success of MMS's commercial Royalty in Kind (RIK) gas program and assistance to MMS in identifying, understanding, and converting deepwater properties to RIK.

Patrick F. Taylor, (In Memoriam), Taylor Energy Company

Exemplary leadership in promoting and achieving personnel safety and regulatory compliance for the oil and gas industry. The MMS was saddened by Mr. Taylor's passing on November 5, 2004, and awards Mr. Taylor posthumously.

Thomas R. Travis, Noble Corporation

Outstanding initiative in organizing and implementing one of the first comprehensive recycling programs in the offshore industry.

Mr. Gregory J. Wiltz, BP

Outstanding assistance to MMS in providing accurate and timely production projections for existing deepwater fields and in forecasting future production.

Kathy Gowland and Margaret Gallaty, Dominion Exploration & Production, Inc.; Adele Hartrick, Kerr-McGee Corporation; Jane Chady, Shell Offshore Inc. Corporation; Donna Green, Petsec Energy Inc.; Ginger Mika, Chevron U.S.A. Inc.; Pat Bruce, Devon Energy Production Company, L.P.; and Anne Renee Laplante, BP Exploration & Production, Inc.

Invaluable contributions in the design and/or implementation of the eWell Permitting and Reporting Project.

MMS, part of the U.S. Department of the Interior, oversees 1.76 billion acres of the Outer Continental Shelf, managing offshore energy and minerals while protecting the human, marine, and coastal environments through advanced science and technology research. The OCS provides 30 percent of oil and 23 percent of natural gas produced domestically, and sand used for coastal restoration. MMS collects, accounts for, and disburses mineral revenues from Federal and American Indian lands, with fiscal year 2004 disbursements of around $8 billion and more than $143 billion since 1982. The Land and Water Conservation Fund, which pays for acquisition of state and federal park and recreation land, gets nearly $1 billion a year.

Company: Minerals Management Service (MMS) more info
 - Obama Names New Head of MMS (Jun 15)
 - Abbey Implements New Drilling Requirements (Jun 07)
 - MMS Chief Resigns (May 27)