Eni Reveals Energy Award Winners

Eni announced Thursday the winners of its Eni Award, which aims to encourage a better use of energy sources and inspire a new generation of researchers.

The company’s Upstream New Frontiers for Hydrocarbons prize went to Zurich’s ETH’s Johan Olof Anders Robertsson for recent research focusing on the development of technology for the acquisition and data modelling of prospecting at sea, using seismic methods capable of overcoming the current limits of visualization and characterization of subsurface features, while continuing to respect the environment.

Eni’s downstream award went to Helmut Schwarz from Berlin’s Technische Universität, whose work focused on the activation of methane for its conversion into heavier hydrocarbons, such as ethane/ethylene or oxygenated variants, such as methanol and formaldehyde. This direct conversion may make it feasible to exploit huge reserves of natural gas held in remote fields and easier to transport to the areas of use.

The award for Renewable Energy area was given to Mercouri Kanatzidis from Northwestern University in Evanston, Yale University professor Menachem Elimelech was awarded the Protecting the Environment prize and the two Research Debut awards, which are given to researchers under 30 who have earned a PhD from an Italian university, were awarded to Daniela Meroni and Margherita Maiuri.


Generated by readers, the comments included herein do not reflect the views and opinions of Rigzone. All comments are subject to editorial review. Off-topic, inappropriate or insulting comments will be removed.