Ray & Ann Brazzel Receive 2004 IADC Contractor Award

The International Association of Drilling Contractors (IADC) and ReedHycalog announced that Ray and Ann Brazzel were named 2004 Contractor of the Year during the IADC Spring Membership Conference luncheon held at the Hyatt Regency Hotel – Reunion Center in Dallas.

For almost 30 years Ray and Ann Brazzel have owned and operated Bandera Drilling Co., Inc. and for 25 years they have been active members and participants in IADC. Ray is President of Bandera Drilling and has served the drilling industry for many years through participation in IADC. He served both as IADC Secretary-Treasurer and as IADC Regional Vice President for the Central US Region, which encompasses a major portion of IADC's membership. In addition, Ray took an active leadership role as a member of IADC's policy-making Executive Committee. Ray also founded the IADC West Texas Chapter. Ray has served on several panels and has been a noted speaker at a number of IADC conferences.

Ann is Vice President of Bandera Drilling and has administrative and accounting responsibilities. Ann has an elementary education degree from the University of Texas - Austin. She taught in the Austin Independent School District for seven years before starting her oilfield career.

Ray, Ann and their associates at Bandera Drilling have been committed to leadership in safety and innovation. All six of their rigs are equipped with kelly and pipe spinners as well as air slips. "It's Bandera's practice to rethink and reengineer the tasks at hand, rather than try to improve safety of a potentially risky procedure," Ray Brazzel said. At the same time, Bandera has a comprehensive set of procedures and policies covering safety and operating procedures. They support other IADC safety initiatives such as providing new employees with IADC RIG PASS – accredited safety orientation training. Bandera Drilling has grown and become a company with an impeccable reputation due to Ray's and Ann's dedication to excellence, supported by a team of employees who are considered to be a second family.

Sponsored by ReedHycalog and the IADC, the annual award was established in 1988 to recognize an individual drilling contractor's outstanding lifetime achievements in technical innovation, safety and economic efficiency within the drilling industry. The prestigious industry award is the only one reserved exclusively for drilling contractors. All recipients of the Contractor of the Year Award are nominated and selected by other drilling contractors who are IADC members.

Past Contractor of the Year Award recipients are:

Sherman Norton (1988), Norton Drilling Company;
Chester Benge (1989), Big 6 Drilling Company;
C. Robert Palmer (1990), Rowan Companies, Inc.;
Cliff Williams (1991), Justiss Drilling (posthumous);
Gary Kott (1992), Global Marine Drilling Company;
Robert E. Rose (1993), Diamond M Corporation;
James C. Day (1994), Noble Corporation,
Alain Roger (1995), Schlumberger Limited;
Cary A. Moomjian, Jr. (1996), Santa Fe International Corporation;
Charles N. Springett (1997), Santa Fe International Corporation;
George S. Dotson (1998), Helmerich & Payne International Drilling Company;
Dennis Heagney (1999), Transocean Incorporated;
Paul Kelly (2000), Rowan Companies, Inc.;
Ray Peterson (2001), UTI Drilling;
Thomas P. Richards (2002), Grey Wolf Inc.;
Morrison R. Plaisance (2003), Diamond Offshore Drilling Inc.