Offshore Safety Awards Winners Announced

Offshore Safety Awards Winners Announced
The winners of the 2019 Offshore Safety Awards, jointly organized by Oil and Gas UK and Step Change in Safety, have been announced.

The winners of the 2019 Offshore Safety Awards, jointly organized by Oil & Gas UK (OGUK) and Step Change in Safety, have been announced. A full list of the victors can be seen below.

  • Safety Representative of the Year - Lee Chegwidden, Apache
  • Innovation in Safety - CNOOC International and DNV GL
  • Workforce Engagement - BP Clair Ridge safety representatives and operations technicians
  • Operational Integrity – CNOOC International
  • Sharing and Learning - Shell UK’s Brent decommissioning project
  • Maritime Safety - Oleg Krushynin, Solstad, and Eric Wiseman, Seacroft Marine Consultants

The winners for each award were voted for by the event’s attendees. The annual awards ceremony celebrates the “outstanding individuals and companies going above and beyond to improve safety across offshore operations on the UK Continental Shelf,” according to a statement posted on OGUK’s website.

“Recognizing the achievements of those who have gone above and beyond in the name of maintaining safe operations across our industry is critically important,” Matt Abraham – OGUK health, safety and environment and supply chain director – said in an organization statement.

“We continually strive to ensure the UKCS remains one of the safest basins to do business in the world and I’d like to say a heartfelt well done and thank you to all our winners, finalists and entrants in playing an important part in helping us achieve this,” he added.

Steve Rae, executive director of Step Change in Safety, said, “it’s heart-warming to see the ingenuity, critical thinking and effort that has gone into the finalists’ award submissions”.

“These awards provide an engaging and collaborative platform which brings together likeminded individuals and teams who all share a tangible passion for ensuring that safe operations remain central to everything they do,” he added.

“The contributions of all our finalists are commendable, and demonstrate that opportunities still exist, within our industry, to continually enhance our approach to improving safety,” Rae continued.

The Maritime Safety award was a new category added for 2019. To see the winners of the 2018, Offshore Safety Awards, click here.

Oil & Gas UK describes itself as the leading representative organization for the UK offshore oil and gas industry. Step Change in Safety is a not for profit safety body for the UK oil and gas sector.

To contact the author, email


Generated by readers, the comments included herein do not reflect the views and opinions of Rigzone. All comments are subject to editorial review. Off-topic, inappropriate or insulting comments will be removed.