New Oil Minister Appointed in Norway

New Oil Minister Appointed in Norway
Tina Bru has been appointed as the new minister of petroleum and energy in Norway, replacing Sylvi Listhaug.

Tina Bru has been appointed as the new minister of petroleum and energy in Norway, replacing Sylvi Listhaug.

Bru is a member of the Norwegian parliament (Stortinget) for the Conservative Party (Hoyre) from Rogaland county. Until her appointment, Bru was a member of the parliament's standing committee on energy and the environment.

Bru holds a bachelor’s degree in management from BI Stavanger. Her political background includes several roles in the Norwegian Young Conservatives Party and as an elected representative to Stavanger city council and Rogaland county council before she was elected to parliament in 2013.

Listhaug, a member of the Progress Party, was appointed as the minister of petroleum and energy on December 18, 2019. She left the post on January 24, 2020, after her party quit the coalition government. Listhaug had previously served as a minister for the elderly and public health and as a minister of immigration and integration.

The minister of petroleum and energy’s responsibility is to ensure high value creation through efficient and environment-friendly management of Norway’s energy resources, according to the government’s website.

Earlier this month, the Norwegian Ministry of Petroleum and Energy revealed that it had offered 69 production licenses on the Norwegian Continental Shelf as part of its latest licensing round; APA 2019.

The 69 production licenses are located in the North Sea (33), the Norwegian Sea (23) and the Barents Sea (13). A total of 28 different oil companies, ranging from large international majors to smaller domestic exploration companies, were offered ownership interests. The full breakdown of the offers can be seen below:

(Number of licenses/operatorships)

  • Aker BP (15/9)
  • AS Norske Shell (5/2)
  • Capricorn (3/3)
  • Chrysaor (8/3)
  • Concedo (4/0)
  • ConocoPhillips (5/3)
  • DNO (10/2)
  • Edison (2/1)
  • Equinor (23/14)
  • Idemitsu (2/0)
  • INEOS (2/1)
  • Lime (2/0)
  • Lotos (2/0)
  • Lundin (12/7)
  • Neptune (13/4)
  • OKEA (5/2)
  • OMV (4/1)
  • ONE-Dyas (3/0)
  • Pandion (3/0)
  • PGNiG (3/0)
  • Repsol (1/0)
  • Source (3/0)
  • Spirit (6/1)
  • Suncor (5/2)
  • Total (2/1)
  • Vår Energi (17/7)
  • Wellesley (7/3) 
  • Wintershall Dea (9/3)

To contact the author, email


Generated by readers, the comments included herein do not reflect the views and opinions of Rigzone. All comments are subject to editorial review. Off-topic, inappropriate or insulting comments will be removed.