Familiar Faces to Lead Merged Marathon-Andeavor

Familiar Faces to Lead Merged Marathon-Andeavor
The merged company will be led by eight current MPC and three current Andeavor executives.

Marathon Petroleum Corp. (MPC), which expects to close its acquisition of Andeavor during the second half of 2018, on Wednesday announced the executive team that will lead the combined company.

“This executive team represents unparalleled business acumen and a steadfast commitment to our core values,” stated Gary Heminger, MPC’s chairman and CEO who will retain that dual title following the merger. “Both MPC and Andeavor are successful companies with excellent track records, and these leaders will enable us to deliver on the full potential of this powerful combination.”

MPC on April 30, 2018, announced that it will acquire Andeavor in a deal that reportedly will create the largest U.S. refiner by capacity with a potential throughput exceeding 3 million barrels per day. The merger also will expand MPC’s geographic reach by linking Andeavor’s 10 refineries in California, the Mid-Continent and Pacific Northwest to MPC’s six-refinery footprint in the Midwest and Gulf Coast regions, MPC stated. In addition, MPC has noted that the deal will create a nationwide retail and marketing portfolio and elevate its midstream profile in the Permian and Bakken regions.

In Wednesday’s announcement, MPC reported that seven of its executives (excluding Heminger) and three members of Andeavor’s leadership team will oversee the combined company. The post-merger executive team will include:

  • Gregory J. Goff: Currently Andeavor’s chairman, president and CEO, Goff will become MPC’s executive vice chairman and oversee information technology, commercial and business development, strategy and corporate affairs.
  • Donald C. Templin: Currently MPC’s president, Templin will become president of refining, marketing and supply. His new role will correspond to refining, crude and feedstock supply, product distribution, marketing, environment and safety and supply chain functions.
  • Anthony R. Kenney: The president of Speedway LLC will retain his current title and responsibility for all company-owned and operated convenience stores.
  • Michael J. Hennigan: Like Kenney, Hennigan will continue to serve as president of midstream unit MPLX LP.
  • Timothy T. Griffin: Griffin, MPC’s senior vice president and chief financial officer, will retain that role in the merged company with responsibility for its controller, audit, tax, treasurer and budget and analysis functions.
  • Suzanne Gagle: Gagle will continue to serve as MPC’s general counsel.
  • Fiona C. Laird: Andeavor’s chief human resources officer will hold a similar role in the merged MPC.
  • David R. Sauber: Currently senior vice president of human resources, health and administrative services for MPC, Sauber will become senior vice president of labor relations, operations, health and administrative services and will report to Laird.
  • Kristina A. Kazarian: Presently MPC’s vice president of investor relations, Kazarian will hold the same title after the merger.
  • Don J. Sorensen: Currently serving as senior vice president of Andeavor Logistics LP (ANDX), Sorensen’s title will change to president of ANDX in the combined company.


Generated by readers, the comments included herein do not reflect the views and opinions of Rigzone. All comments are subject to editorial review. Off-topic, inappropriate or insulting comments will be removed.