Exploration News for East & South Africa


Results 17 articles shown

Less Appetite for Exploration Drilling
Monday, November 12, 2018 There's less appetite for exploration drilling, according to Rystad Energy.

A Better Approach to Conventional Oil Exploration
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 The history of oil exploration is one of trying to overcome the odds.

Exxon Exploration Chief Eyes Africa for Next Elephant Oil Find
Thursday, October 18, 2018 ExxonMobil is targeting western and southern Africa for the world's next big oil bonanza.

Offshore Mozambique Block Goes to Eni
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Eni has bolstered its presence in Mozambique.

Drillship to Spud Offshore Namibia Well
Friday, September 28, 2018 The Ocean Rig Poseidon has been mobilized to drill the Prospect S Well in Petroleum Exploration License (PEL) 71 offshore Namibia.

Offshore Namibia Dud Dims Outlook for New Play
Monday, September 24, 2018 Tullow Oil Plc said an exploration well off Namibia was a dud, damping enthusiasm over a frontier area that's attracted renewed interest amid oil's recovery.

Petronas Eyes South Sudan Oil Blocks
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 Petronas is interested in developing oil blocks in South Sudan, President Salva Kiir's office says.

South Sudan Signs Extends Oil Exploration, Production Deals For 3 Blocks
Monday, September 10, 2018 South Sudan extended oil exploration and production agreements for three blocks, the petroleum minister says.

Uganda's National Oil Firm, China's CNOOC Sign Exploration Deal
Thursday, September 06, 2018 Uganda's national oil firm and CNOOC sign an agreement to jointly conduct exploration in a new block.

Pan-African Firm Oranto Petroleum To Explore For Oil In Zambia
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 Pan-African firm Oranto Petroleum says it will start exploring for oil in Zambia.

Eni Reports Offshore Angola Discovery
Monday, June 25, 2018 Eni-operated JV reports success offshore Angola.

Mozambique Says 2015 Exploration Contracts Almost Ready
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 Mozambique's oil and gas regulator says exploration contracts from 2015 are close to being finalized.

Rystad Energy: 100 Offshore Projects to be Sanctioned in 2018
Thursday, May 03, 2018 Oil market 'tailwind' likely to spark 100 offshore project sanctions in 2018.

Total To Buy Shares In Kenyan Oil Blocks From A.P. Moeller-Maersk
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 Total SA is to buy shares in 3 Kenyan oil blocks from A.P. Moeller-Maersk.

Exploration to Increase in 2018 but Investment Constraints Remain
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 Exploration activity will increase in 2018, but market uncertainty and the need to manage debt levels will remain key constraints to investment.

Global Exploration Sector May Soon Return to Profit
Thursday, January 04, 2018 There are early signs that the global exploration sector may soon return to profit.

Seismic Survey Offshore Mozambique Commences
Friday, December 08, 2017 Seismic imaging specialist Spectrum announces the commencement of a 2D seismic survey offshore Mozambique on behalf of the Institute of National Petroleum.