Petrobras Company News

Recent Articles

Results 50 articles shown

$2.3B FPSO Order Goes to Keppel
Tuesday, May 11, 2021Keppel O&M is carrying out the project at multiple locations.

Baker Hughes Wins Brazil Subsea Contract
Tuesday, May 04, 2021Petrobras has awarded Baker Hughes a subsea oilfield equipment contract. PHOTO SOURCE: Baker Hughes

TechnipFMC Wins Petrobras Subsea Contract
Wednesday, April 21, 2021Petrobras has awarded TechnipFMC a subsea contract for two of its offshore Brazil fields.

Army General Set to Run Petrobras
Tuesday, April 13, 2021The abrupt leadership change has led to a slew of defections from the company's board and management team.

Equinor and Partners Choose Concept for Offshore Brazil Field
Monday, March 22, 2021Equinor, Repsol Sinopec Brasil, and Petrobras have approved a development concept for the BM-C-33 gas/condensate field.

Petrobras Awards Contract for Buzios FPSO
Tuesday, March 02, 2021The FPSO will be the largest oil-producing unit offshore Brazil, according to SBM Offshore.

New Petrobras Chief Seeks Ongoing Outside Investment
Wednesday, February 24, 2021Brazil's president last week abruptly named a former defense minister to lead the state-controlled company.

Petrobras Awards Deepwater 3D Surveys
Thursday, February 18, 2021Shearwater will deploy its SW Diamond vessel for the contract. PHOTO SOURCE: Shearwater GeoServices

Transocean Wins Drilling Contracts
Wednesday, February 17, 2021Transocean has garnered several new drilling contracts and contract extensions during the past quarter.

Petrobras and ExxonMobil Strike Oil in Campos
Friday, January 29, 2021Petrobras on Friday reported a new discovery in the pre-salt Campos Basin offshore Brazil.

Petrobras Sets Production Record
Friday, January 08, 2021The Brazilian state-run giant reported Thursday an all-time high for oil production.

Oil Demand Surges in Brazil
Wednesday, December 09, 2020Brazil is providing one of the few bright spots for oil demand outside of Asia.

Petrobras Chief Likens Net Zero to Fad
Wednesday, December 02, 2020His stance more or less echoes ExxonMobil and Chevron's.

Transocean Wins Petrobras Contract Extensions
Thursday, November 19, 2020Petrobras has extended contracts for a pair of Transocean ultra-deepwater drillships.

$455MM in Brazil Contracts Go to Oilfield Services Trio
Tuesday, November 10, 2020First oil from Bacalhau is projected for 2024. PHOTO SOURCE: Equinor

Offshore Brazil Contract Goes to Oceaneering
Wednesday, October 14, 2020Oceaneering will provide Petrobras BOP tethering services. IMAGE SOURCE: Oceaneering

Feds Indict Former Oil Trader in Ecuador Bribery Probe
Wednesday, September 23, 2020A former manager at the world's largest independent oil-trading firm, was indicted for allegedly bribing Ecuadorian government officials to get business for his firm with state-owned Petroecuador.

Petrobras Eyes Its Next Buzios FPSO
Wednesday, September 16, 2020Petrobras and SBM Offshore confirmed that they have begun negotiations for the FPSO Almirante Tamandare.

TechnipFMC Wins Brazil Subsea Contract
Friday, August 21, 2020Petrobras has awarded TechnipFMC an EPIC contract for the Libra Consortium’s Mero 2 project.

Petrobras Exiting Shallow Water Ceara Fields
Monday, June 22, 2020Petrobras is the operator in the four fields with 100 percent participation.

Petrobras Selling Alagoas Field Stake
Thursday, June 18, 2020In addition to the concessions and their production facilities, the offering includes the Natural Gas Processing Unit in Alagoas.

Petrobras Extends FPSO Contract with BW Offshore
Tuesday, June 09, 2020BW Offshore has received an extension agreement for the BW Cidade de Sao Vicente FPSO vessel from Petrobras.

Petrobras Divesting Partial Stake in Espírito Santo Basin
Wednesday, June 03, 2020The concessions are strategically positioned in relation to key post-salt discoveries.

Petrobras Moves Forward with Camamu Stake Sale
Tuesday, June 02, 2020The sale is in line with the company's strategy of optimizing its portfolio and increasing the focus in deep and ultra-deep waters.

Petrobras Books Hefty 1Q Impairment on Oil, Gas Assets
Monday, May 18, 2020The company wrote off the entire value of its shallow-water assets.

Petrobras Confirms Covid-19 Cases on Xareu Platforms
Thursday, May 14, 2020All underwent RT-PCR testing, are in isolation and being monitored by health teams.

Petrobras Plans to Divest Manati Field Stake
Tuesday, May 05, 2020Petrobras is the operator with a 35 percent interest.

Sumitomo Joins Yinson in Petrobras FPSO Project
Thursday, April 30, 2020The agreement grants Sumitomo a 25-percent interest in the FPSO Anna Nery project that Petrobras awarded Yinson last fall.

Petrobras Switches Gears on Production Cuts
Wednesday, April 29, 2020Plans are also underway for initiatives that expand oil export capacity.

BW Offshore Gets FPSO Contract Extension
Wednesday, April 29, 2020With this update the contract will expire on June 11, 2020.

Petrobras Hits Oil in Santos Basin Pre-Salt
Monday, April 06, 2020The pioneer well is about 200 km off the coast of the city of Santos, at a water depth of 1,995 meters.

Petrobras Cuts Capex, Oil Output Amid Market Turmoil
Friday, March 27, 2020Salary cuts, postponed dividend payments and delayed exploration are all part of the survival plan.

Murphy and Petrobras Award Five-year FPSO Contract
Thursday, March 19, 2020The MP GOM partnership between Murphy EXPRO and Petrobras America has hired the BW Pioneer FPSO for at least five years.

Allseas Drillship to Pursue Deep-Sea Metals
Thursday, March 05, 2020Allseas will equip the Vitoria 10000, above, with a riser to recover rocks laden with valuable metals from the ocean floor. PHOTO SOURCE: Allseas Group S.A.

Offshore Drilling Contractor Hits Full Utilization
Tuesday, February 11, 2020Constellation Oil Services has signed a three-year contract with Petrobras for the Atlantic Star semi-submersible rig.

Petrobras and Chevron Selling Stake in Papa-Terra Field
Tuesday, February 04, 2020Papa-terra field is part of the BC-20 concession and is located at a water depth of 1,200 meters.

Brazil Aiming to Double its Oil Production
Friday, November 29, 2019Future expansion depends on access to capital, high-end tech from foreign investors and big oil companies with deepwater and pre-salt expertise.

Petrobras CEO Blames High Price Tag for Auction Flop
Thursday, November 07, 2019Brazil had its second failed oil auction in two days, prompting government officials and the head of the state-run producer to criticize bidding rules.

Brazil's Largest Ever Oil Auction Flops
Wednesday, November 06, 2019State-controlled Petrobras did most of the bidding while other major oil companies stayed away.

Priciest Oil Auction Could Raise $50B in Brazil
Monday, October 21, 2019An auction next month of oilfields in Brazil may be the priciest ever held, raising at least $50 billion in licensing fees and compensation.

Deepwater Transformation Sparking New Interest
Thursday, October 17, 2019Changes have revived interest in deepwater projects and enabled new ones in regions including the North Sea, the Gulf of Mexico and China Seas.

Mexico's Growing Reliance on US Oil Will Continue
Friday, September 13, 2019Proven oil reserves in Mexico have collapsed from 50 billion barrels 20 years ago to just 8 billion barrels today.

Petrobras Ordered to Fuel Stranded Iranian Ships
Thursday, July 25, 2019A Brazilian top court justice ordered Petrobras to refuel two Iranian ships stranded off the country's coast after the state-controlled oil company refused to do so for fear of U.S. sanctions.

Chevron Becomes Texas Refiner
Thursday, May 02, 2019Petrobras had been the sole owner of the facility since 2008.

Petrobras Hires Transocean Drillships
Monday, March 11, 2019The total estimated firm backlog for both drillships amounts to more than $240 million.

8-Year Petrobras Contract Starts for TechnipFMC-DOF
Tuesday, February 19, 2019A joint venture of TechnipFMC and DOF Subsea owns the new flexible lay and construction vessel.

TechnipFMC Scores Brazil Subsea Contract
Wednesday, February 06, 2019Petrobras awarded the contract on behalf of the Libra Consortium.

Oil May Bring 400,000 Jobs and $258B in Investments to Brazil
Thursday, January 17, 2019The secretary general of the Brazilian Institute of Petroleum, Gas and Biofuels said that in the next few years, the oil industry will bring more jobs and investments to Rio de Janeiro.

Petrobras Sells Rights in 37 Oilfields for $823MM
Wednesday, November 28, 2018Brazil's state-controlled oil company is selling its stakes in dozens of oilfields for $823 million.

Brazil Subsea Pipeline Project Goes to McDermott
Wednesday, November 21, 2018Petrobras has awarded McDermott an EPCI contract for the ultra-shallow segment of its Rota 3 natural gas export pipeline.