Company Overview: Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries

You Are Here: O&G Directory >> Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries


OPEC is an international Organization of eleven developing countries which are heavily reliant on oil revenues as their main source of income. Membership is open to any country which is a substantial net exporter of oil and which shares the ideals of the Organization. The current Members are Algeria, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.

Twice a year, or more frequently if required, the Oil and Energy Ministers of the OPEC Members meet to decide on the Organization's output level, and consider whether any action to adjust output is necessary in the light of recent and anticipated oil market developments.

OPEC's eleven Members collectively supply about 40 per cent of the world's oil output, and possess more than three-quarters of the world's total proven crude oil reserves. More details can be found in the FAQ on OPEC, and in the sections on the individual Member Countries, which feature tables with selected oil, gas and economic data.

Quick Facts

Line of Business: Oil Export Association
Ownership: Non-Profit

Directory Categories

Associations & Societies >> Petroleum
Company Information
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries
Obere Donaustrasse 93
Vienna, A-1020
Contact Information
Phone: +43 1 21112 279
Fax: +43 1 2149827
Add Listing
North America South America Europe Africa Central Asia Middle East Southern Asia Australia & Oceania Far East Search All Regions
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | WXYZ