U.S. Energy Secretary Joins Industry Heavyweights at CERAWeek

US Energy Secretary Steven Chu
(Click to Enlarge)

U.S. Energy Secretary Steven Chu will join an impressive list of speakers at CERAWeek 2010, March 8-12 at the Hilton Americas – Houston. Secretary Chu will deliver a keynote address Tuesday, March 9 at 12:30pm CT.

CERAWeek, now in its 29th year, is recognized as a leading forum offering insight into the energy future. Chaired by IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates (IHS CERA) Chairman and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Prize, Daniel Yergin, CERAWeek 2010 Energy: Building the New Future will convene an international group of industry, policy and financial leaders—along with leading researchers from IHS CERA -- to discuss the central energy challenges and opportunities.

Other Featured Speakers at CERAWeek 2010 include:

  • Khalid Al-Falih, president and CEO, Saudi Aramco
  • Hamad Rashid Al-Mohannadi, managing director and CEO, RasGas Company Limited
  • Nariman Behravesh, chief economist, IHS
  • Brandon Bethards, CEO, Babcock & Wilcox
  • Philippe Boisseau, president gas and power, TOTAL
  • Jean-Francois Cirelli, vice chairman and president, GdF SUEZ
  • Theodore F. Craver, Jr., chairman, president and CEO, Edison International
  • Peter Darbee, Chairman, president and chief executive officer, PG&E Corporation
  • José Sergio Gabrielli de Azevedo, CEO, Petrobras
  • Andy Inglis, chief executive, exploration and production, BP
  • Philippe Joubert, executive vice president, Alstom, president of Alstom Power
  • Andrew Liveris, chairman and chief executive officer, Dow Chemical Company
  • Helge Lund, president and chief executive officer, Statoil
  • Tan Sri Hassan Marican, president and chief executive officer, PETRONAS
  • Alexander Medvedev, deputy chairman and general director of Gazprom Export, Gazprom
  • Mike Morris, Chairman, president and CEO, American Electric Power Company Inc.
  • James Mulva, Chairman, president and CEO, ConocoPhilips
  • Richard Newell, administrator, US Energy Information Administration (EIA)
  • Rajendra Kumar Pachauri, chairman (Nobel Laureate), Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  • Kjell Pederson, CEO, Petoro AS
  • Ken Rogoff, professor of economics, Harvard University
  • Paolo Scaroni, CEO, ENI Group
  • Nobuo Tanaka executive director, International Energy Agency (IEA)
  • Tom Walters, president gas and power marketing, ExxonMobil

Key CERAWeek 2010 themes include:

  • Demand: Has the "Great Recession" caused a fundamental shift in energy demand?
  • Future Investment in the Industry: What will be the short-term and long-term impacts of the economic slowdown on the energy industry?
  • Economics: What is the future of the global economy?
  • Future Fuel Mix: How will climate change, the economy, new technologies and new supply impact interfuel competition and technology choice?
  • Climate Change: How will climate change legislation affect future investment and prices around the globe?
  • Geopolitics: How will geopolitical forces impact energy prices and investment decisions?
  • Company Strategy: In the midst of such political and economic uncertainty, which strategies are the most resilient to future shocks?
  • Game Changers: What innovations will be the game changers in the new energy future? The electric car? Unconventional natural gas?

Our Privacy Pledge

Most Popular Articles

From the Career Center
Jobs that may interest you
Load Planner/ Dispatcher Frac Sand
Expertise: Dispatcher|Project Management
Location: Mansfield, TX
Project Engineer
Expertise: Electrical Engineering|Instrument & Controls Engineer|Project Management
Location: Deer Park, TX
Law IT Technical Analyst
Expertise: Legal|Technical Manager
Location: Houston, TX
search for more jobs

Brent Crude Oil : $48.06/BBL 2.51%
Light Crude Oil : $45.77/BBL 2.17%
Natural Gas : $2.97/MMBtu 2.30%
Updated in last 24 hours