Argentina to Transfer E&P to Seven Provinces

Argentina's federal planning minister Julio de Vido and governors and representatives from seven provinces signed an agreement to transfer hydrocarbons E&P to those provinces, state news agency Telam reported.

The provinces are Chubut, Formosa, Jujuy, La Pampa, Rio Negro, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego.

The agreement, which is in preparation for a modification to the hydrocarbons law, means that "when concessions end on an oil area, the provinces will be able to put them out to concession again to benefit their populations," De Vido said.

The parties also announced the creation of a commission made up of the national government, the energy ministry, the provinces and state oil company Enarsa to ensure an orderly transfer.

Basically, the executive initiative aims to transfer exploration permits and production concessions to the provinces.

The agreement also includes transferring dominion over hydrocarbons transport, but excludes deposits that begin 12 nautical miles (a little more than 22km) offshore, which will remain under national control.

Visit BNamericas to access our real-time news reports, 7-year archive, Fact File company database, and latest research reports. Click here for a Free two week trial to our Latin America Oil & Gas information service.


Our Privacy Pledge

Most Popular Articles

From the Career Center
Jobs that may interest you
Sales Manager - Safety Relief Valves
Expertise: Business Development|Sales
Location: Houston, TX
Staff Auditor 2
Expertise: Business Analyst|Risk Management
Location: TX
United States Conroe: Product Champion
Expertise: Business Development|Marketing|Sales
Location: Conroe, TX
search for more jobs

Brent Crude Oil : $50.75/BBL 0.09%
Light Crude Oil : $47.73/BBL 0.50%
Natural Gas : $3.05/MMBtu 0.97%
Updated in last 24 hours